Official Plan Review

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

The Town of Wasaga Beach invites you to participate in the review of our Official Plan. By providing your input and ideas, you can help to shape the future of our community.

An Official Plan is a town-wide forward-looking document that describes the community’s long-term vision and sets outs goals and policies for directing land use, future growth, and development.


The Town of Wasaga Beach invites you to participate in the review of our Official Plan. By providing your input and ideas, you can help to shape the future of our community.

An Official Plan is a town-wide forward-looking document that describes the community’s long-term vision and sets outs goals and policies for directing land use, future growth, and development.


Guest Book

Official Plans contain vision statements that provide a broad expression of the community’s desired land uses and growth for the future. Official Plan policies will guide growth over the long-term in our community. 

We provide three statements for your consideration below. Please comment on the statement which most closely aligns with your vision for land use and built form in Wasaga Beach.    

  1. Wasaga Beach is a vibrant, fully serviced community with unique character, offering great places to live, work and play, with a high quality of life for all.
  2. Wasaga Beach is a complete community offering a high quality of life for all ages, with unique character and a mix of eclectic places that shape memorable experiences.
  3. Wasaga Beach is a thriving place for people of all ages, as a fully serviced, complete, and connected community with an eclectic and green urban character, offering unique and memorable experiences and Canada's top freshwater beach destination.

When commenting on the vision statement that you prefer, please think about the following: 
  • Which of the vision statements do you prefer? Why?
  • Are there words, concepts, or ideas that are missing that we should consider adding? 
  • Is there something that does not belong in the vision statement?
  • Which of these these statements best aligns with how you think Wasaga Beach should be in 20-40 years?

CLOSED: This discussion has concluded.

Vision statement #2 reflects most closely my vision of WB. #1 implies great places to live (check!) and play (check!)...all good. But #1 also implies increased industrial base or increased commercialization...I'm not keen on that type of development..So #1 is out. #3 is out..."offering unique and memorable experiences and Canada's top freshwater beach destination". That last statement implies monetization of the beachfront and a focus on tourism...I'm looking for a more resident-focussed approach to planning whereby we make it a great place to live for residents...and looking for a significant reduction in attention to making Wasaga Beach a destination location focussed primarily on the beach.

SteveW 12 months ago
characters left

One
polcat73

polcat73 about 2 years ago
characters left

These “Vision” statements are all a bit optimistic. Fully serviced is a bit of a lie or at least an exaggeration. We can cannot claim to be fully serviced until we have a new arena with all the entities that go along with that and a high school. How can a town have four elementary schools and no high school. A high school could include a municipal library, sports facilities (arena) and other elements that could make the high school desirable and also benefit the community. Facilities for students during the day and that could offer courses of interest to the community in the evenings, such as cooking classes, parenting classes, small engine repair, woodworking, sports. Can you imagine having something that great that would attract young families rather than push them out of the community?? Or we can continue as a retirement destination and glorified campground.

Walker1Alpha about 2 years ago
characters left

3.

WBfirst about 2 years ago
characters left

The first one is to the point and easily understood. I would change "live, work and play" to "live, work and experience". I would also change "fully serviced" to "complete community" as it covers more than just services in the conventional sense.

KKirton about 2 years ago
characters left

Vision statement 1

WasagaFan about 2 years ago
characters left

3 is the most detailed - but unsure I want to characterise the town as urban... the natural, rustic feel is one of our town's most wonderful aspects.

DianeF about 2 years ago
characters left

A vision statement describes what a leaders "vision " is at some point into the future. The statement should be specific and detailed enough to allow town management and citizenry to act in a coordinated way to achieve a future outcome. Something like.... "Wasaga is a beach town with year round population that will continue to grow organically and with new residents relocating from the GTA to take advantage of the lower costs and proximity to the beach waterfront environment. Wasaga will be a town that will embrace growth by continuously improving infrastructure, services, amenities so that it becomes a place where people can't wait to get to, are happy to pay their taxes, investors are ambitious to spend money." I don't see any of the three statements described here as powerful statements about what the medium and long term vision of our leadership is for Wasaga Beach and what it could become, more like what it is today. Change is happening and it's not back to the way things were.

buckley01 about 2 years ago
characters left

All 3 alternative statements have potential but I don't think hit the mark. Obviously the beach itself is the main draw although as a 40 year resident I tend to stay away during mid summer and enjoy it more in the off seasons. We are seeing steady growth and this is causing pressure on our green spaces and corridors. The town should stress that any new planned subdivisions be required to intersperse green space and corridors more so than is currently required. Retail sector seems to be getting better but still far to many are strictly open in mid summer and it looks like a ghost town for the rest of the year. Still no High school after all these years which has been talked about for years but not realized. Last but not least we need another bridge at Veterans Way area so that the traffic log jams on the spit side of the river can get out of "Dodge".

Bill1647 about 2 years ago
characters left

I prefer #1 but would add reference to our freshawater beach as this is our differential factor and because Tourism is our number one source of revenue (except property taxes)
Wasaga Beach and it's Canada top freshwater beach, is a vibrant, fully serviced community with unique character, offering great places to live, work and play, with a high quality of life for all.

MadProductions about 2 years ago
characters left

I would go with #1

Beach man over 2 years ago
characters left

I prefer the first statement. It's short , to the point and easy to remember as vision statements should be. The wording is also understandable. The other statements are a little wordy and contain words which some may not understand . e.g. "eclectic." I would suggest deleting the word"play" and insert, "visit."
I would also suggest looking for a word other than "unique". I agree that Wasaga Beach is special but to suggest that it is or will ever be one of a kind is a bit of a stretch!!

williamthomas1 over 2 years ago
characters left

"Vibrant" - NOT! WB is stagnant and barely surviving.
"Fully serviced" - NOT! Only 1 West-East main road? Hospital/urgent care facility? Decent transit system? Uber? Efficient bicycle trails? - you call this "fully serviced"?

"A mix of eclectic places"- Well if you mean and abundance of in-town run down 1960's era motels,run down messy trailer parks, closed stores mixed with old cottages and some newer high end housing along with residential streets decorated with RVs in driveways, unkempt lawns, junk collectors and then the most beautiful beach in Ontario then maybe you're right.
"Thriving" - NO WAY - we are stagnant if not going backwards. Nothing is new or different since Stonebridge and that was years ago.

How about this? "Wasaga Beach has the potential to be one of the premiere recreational living towns for young families and young retirees in Ontario but is being squandered by lack of vision, action and making of hard decisions."

BBGB over 2 years ago
characters left

Statement 1- short and to the point. However, we could benefit from more places for people to work.

I do not like the use of the word eclectic in #2 or #3.

#3 feels a little run on with the use of the word and 4 times.

Rosie over 2 years ago
characters left

3. aligns with what it should be. At the moment it is not fully serviced or complete. It lacks enough retail to service retirees who have to travel to Collingwood or Barrie to get what they require. There are not enough schools for the children who get bused. The schools they get bused to are kept viable only because of Wasaga students but what about our city. We don't need to keep other cities viable by busing & driving. In the future Wasaga Beach is more likely to expand more than Collingwood or Stayner so why isn't Wasaga more developed & supported.

RButch over 2 years ago
characters left

No #3 is my choice because I can envision Wasaga to be all of this. To bring about memorable experiences and especially Canada's top freshwater beach destination there is a long road ahead. Definitely #3 is the choice to aim for.

tony98 over 2 years ago
characters left

3. But it will not have the green urban character if we keep putting up high density housing.
Bob 2094.

bob2094 over 2 years ago
characters left

I choose 3 as the best fit "for the future". Wasaga Beach is a lifestyle community that is centered around the beach. Love of the beach is the one thing that brings us all together.
Unfortunately, this statement does not fit us today. Wasaga Beach is neither vibrant or thriving. I think it could be, it needs vision and strict management of all future development. The planning and development for the community is broken, the beach is tired and in need of maintenance. The planning and development decisions that are being made today will set the course of our community for the next 100 years. Lets work as a community and ensure that we don't drop the ball at this critical juncture.

Chris30 over 2 years ago
characters left

Personally, I prefer Vision #1. The reason being that Wasaga Beach is a vibrant community. We are growing and will continue to grow. Wasaga is unique in itself and more so because of the beach. As a community , we need to continue with what has been naturally given to us, but at the same time be able to be a viable community that is capable of sustaining ourselves, while relying on our main industry.

Beachgirl12 over 2 years ago
characters left

I have no opinion

lola8991 over 2 years ago
characters left
Page last updated: 29 April 2021, 13:05